Category Archives: Distracted Driving

Washington Man Dies in I-84 Crash in Ontario

Date: August 22, 2015

Location: Interstate 84

Names: Mark M. Voronkovich, John D. Mindy

Washington Man Dies in I-84 Crash in Ontario

Saturday morning a 23-year-old from Auburn, Washington, died after his van crashed into the back of a Freighliner truck on I-84 in Ontario.

Mark M. Voronkovich was headed westbound in a 2010 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter 2500 passenger van when it collided with a semi-truck traveling about 20 mph.

Voronkovich was pronounced dead at the scene.

The driver of the tractor-trailer, John D. Mindy, 58, of Tremont, Pennsylvania, was not injured.

Investigators believe distracted driving appears to be a potential cause for the crash.

We extend our condolences to the family and friends of Mark M. Voronkovich.

As Portland car accident attorneys, we know that filing an insurance claim can be extremely complicated and stressful. After a crash like this, any injured person can seek compensation through the at-fault driver’s insurance policy, or through their own uninsured motorist coverage.

Steps to Take for Filing an Insurance Claim after an Oregon Accident:

  1. Get medical treatment. If you’ve been injured, waiting to seek medical treatment can greatly affect the value of your claim.
  2. Right after the accident, write down any details you remember.
  3. Contact your insurance company and get a copy of your insurance policy if you don’t have one. Talk to your adjuster about using your personal injury protection (PIP) coverage for medical treatment, lost wages, etc.
  4. Determine the amount of property damage done.
  5. Start keeping good records. Get the police report, copies of medical bills, pictures of your car before and after repairs, etc.
  6. If you are considering hiring a lawyer, talk to the lawyer before you talk to the other driver’s insurance company.
  7. Get all correspondence with both insurance companies in writing.
  8. Do not sign anything until you are done treating and are medically stationary.
  9. Check the statute of limitations on your claim. For most car accidents in Oregon, the time limit is two years, but this is not true for all cases. In some cases, you will only have 180 days – speaking to an attorney can clarify your time limits.
  10. Discuss your case with a car accident attorney in Portland who offers free consultations to start understanding the laws that affect your case and your rights as an accident victim.

But before you speak to the insurance adjuster or an attorney, you can learn more about the Oregon insurance claim process in the very helpful book, 7 Common Mistakes That Can Wreck Your Oregon Accident Case.

Driver Falls Asleep and Causes Crash that Injures 3 North of Molalla

Date: June 1, 2015

Location: Highway 213

Names: Jason Shaw, Janet Wollam, Barbara Mendenhall

Driver Falls Asleep and Causes Crash that Injures 3 North of Molalla

Monday afternoon, three people were sent to the hospital after a serious crash on Highway 213 north of Molalla.

Jason Shaw, 30, was headed southbound on Highway 213 when his Honda Civic crossed the center line and collided head-on with another car.

Shaw told police he fell asleep at the wheel. He was transported to OHSU with potentially life-threatening injuries.

The driver of the other car that was hit, Janet Wollam, 68, of Portland, and her passenger, Barbara Mendenhall, 68, of Vancouver, were taken to the hospital with minor injuries.

We wish Jason Shaw, Barbara Mendenhall and Janet Wollam a full and speedy recovery.

As Portland car accident attorneys, we know that filing an insurance claim can be extremely complicated and stressful. After a crash like this, any injured person can seek compensation through the at-fault driver’s insurance policy, or through their own uninsured motorist coverage.

Steps to Take for Filing an Insurance Claim after an Oregon Accident:

  1. Get medical treatment. If you’ve been injured, waiting to seek medical treatment can greatly affect the value of your claim.
  2. Right after the accident, write down any details you remember.
  3. Contact your insurance company and get a copy of your insurance policy if you don’t have one. Talk to your adjuster about using your personal injury protection (PIP) coverage for medical treatment, lost wages, etc.
  4. Determine the amount of property damage done.
  5. Start keeping good records. Get the police report, copies of medical bills, pictures of your car before and after repairs, etc.
  6. If you are considering hiring a lawyer, talk to the lawyer before you talk to the other driver’s insurance company.
  7. Get all correspondence with both insurance companies in writing.
  8. Do not sign anything until you are done treating and are medically stationary.
  9. Check the statute of limitations on your claim. For most car accidents in Oregon, the time limit is two years, but this is not true for all cases. In some cases, you will only have 180 days – speaking to an attorney can clarify your time limits.
  10. Discuss your case with a car accident attorney in Portland who offers free consultations to start understanding the laws that affect your case and your rights as an accident victim.

But before you speak to the insurance adjuster or an attorney, you can learn more about the Oregon insurance claim process in the very helpful book, 7 Common Mistakes That Can Wreck Your Oregon Accident Case.

Three Injured in Airport Shuttle Bus Crash on I-5 near Woodburn

Date: May 30, 2015

Location: Interstate 5

Names: Jack C. Heisler, Michael Griffin

Three Injured in Airport Shuttle Bus Crash on I-5 near Woodburn

Saturday morning, an airport shuttle bus crashed on I-5 south near Woodburn injuring the driver and two passengers.

The Hut Shuttle bus was heading south on I-5 when the driver crossed the median into the northbound lanes while trying to pick up a water bottle he dropped on the floor. The bus collided with a car traveling northbound then rolled into an adjacent field.

The bus driver, Jack C. Heisler, 72, and two passengers were taken to area hospitals for minor injuries.

The driver of the vehicle the bus collided with, Michael Griffin, was not injured.

We wish Jack C. Heisler and all the people involved in this crash a full and speedy recovery.

As Portland car accident attorneys, we know that filing an insurance claim can be extremely complicated and stressful. After a crash like this, any injured person can seek compensation through the at-fault driver’s insurance policy, or through their own uninsured motorist coverage.

Steps to Take for Filing an Insurance Claim after an Oregon Accident:

  1. Get medical treatment. If you’ve been injured, waiting to seek medical treatment can greatly affect the value of your claim.
  2. Right after the accident, write down any details you remember.
  3. Contact your insurance company and get a copy of your insurance policy if you don’t have one. Talk to your adjuster about using your personal injury protection (PIP) coverage for medical treatment, lost wages, etc.
  4. Determine the amount of property damage done.
  5. Start keeping good records. Get the police report, copies of medical bills, pictures of your car before and after repairs, etc.
  6. If you are considering hiring a lawyer, talk to the lawyer before you talk to the other driver’s insurance company.
  7. Get all correspondence with both insurance companies in writing.
  8. Do not sign anything until you are done treating and are medically stationary.
  9. Check the statute of limitations on your claim. For most car accidents in Oregon, the time limit is two years, but this is not true for all cases. In some cases, you will only have 180 days – speaking to an attorney can clarify your time limits.
  10. Discuss your case with a car accident attorney in Portland who offers free consultations to start understanding the laws that affect your case and your rights as an accident victim.

But before you speak to the insurance adjuster or an attorney, you can learn more about the Oregon insurance claim process in the very helpful book, 7 Common Mistakes That Can Wreck Your Oregon Accident Case.

Sleeping Driver Crashes into Bus Carrying Disabled Passengers

Date: May 4, 2015

Location: Kuebler Boulevard SE

Names: Toni Rotondi, Elizabeth Longorio

Sleeping Driver Crashes into Bus Carrying Disabled Passengers

Monday morning a driver fell asleep behind the wheel and crashed into a bus carrying disabled passengers in Salem.

Toni Rotondi, 24, of Salem, was driving westbound on Kuebler Boulevard SE in a 2009 Toyota and crossed the center line and collided with an eastbound CherryLift bus.

Rotondi was cited for careless driving and failure to drive within a traffic lane.

The bus driver, Elizabeth Longorio, 37, of Salem and three passengers were all taken to the hospital.

We wish everyone involved in the crash a full and speedy recovery.

As Portland car accident attorneys, we know that filing an insurance claim can be extremely complicated and stressful. After a crash like this, any injured person can seek compensation through the at-fault driver’s insurance policy, or through their own uninsured motorist coverage.

Steps to Take for Filing an Insurance Claim after an Oregon Accident:

  1. Get medical treatment. If you’ve been injured, waiting to seek medical treatment can greatly affect the value of your claim.
  2. Right after the accident, write down any details you remember.
  3. Contact your insurance company and get a copy of your insurance policy if you don’t have one. Talk to your adjuster about using your personal injury protection (PIP) coverage for medical treatment, lost wages, etc.
  4. Determine the amount of property damage done.
  5. Start keeping good records. Get the police report, copies of medical bills, pictures of your car before and after repairs, etc.
  6. If you are considering hiring a lawyer, talk to the lawyer before you talk to the other driver’s insurance company.
  7. Get all correspondence with both insurance companies in writing.
  8. Do not sign anything until you are done treating and are medically stationary.
  9. Check the statute of limitations on your claim. For most car accidents in Oregon, the time limit is two years, but this is not true for all cases. In some cases, you will only have 180 days – speaking to an attorney can clarify your time limits.
  10. Discuss your case with a car accident attorney in Portland who offers free consultations to start understanding the laws that affect your case and your rights as an accident victim.

But before you speak to the insurance adjuster or an attorney, you can learn more about the Oregon insurance claim process in the very helpful book, 7 Common Mistakes That Can Wreck Your Oregon Accident Case.

Driver Falls Asleep and Flips Car into Ditch

Date: February 11, 2015

Location: Highway 224

Name: Unavailable

Driver Falls Asleep and Flips Car into Ditch

A driver fell asleep at the wheel on Wednesday and flipped his car in a ditch.

The crash occurred on Highway 224 and Glover Road near Barton.

The driver said he was fine and had been working the overnight shift.

We hope the driver is able to fully recover soon.

While many single-car accidents seem uncomplicated, there are sometimes other factors to consider. If you have been injured in a single- car accident, like the one described here, you may be able to receive compensation in several instances:

  1. If poor road conditions, poor signage, or bad traffic control contributed to the accident, there may be a lawsuit available against the city, county, or state. In cases against a public body, you may only have 180 days to file a tort claim notice (in most cases) so act quickly to protect your rights.
  2. If the car’s mechanic was negligent in his last repairs, contributing to the accident, there may be a lawsuit available against the mechanic or his business.
  3. If the car’s manufacturer was negligent, you may be able to file a product liability suit against them. Car manufacturers have often been held accountable for design defects and manufacturing defects, and these lawsuits help ensure that future drivers are not hurt by negligent safety standards.

If you have been injured in a single-car accident that you believe may not have been your fault, you can call a Portland car accident lawyer for help with your investigation at 503-222-4411. Or you can learn more about filing your own claim by reading the book 7 Common Mistakes That Can Wreck Your Oregon Accident Case.

Driver Injured in Highway 26 Seafood Waste Crash

Date: June 22, 2014
Location: US 26, near milepost 35, Coast Range
Name: Daniel Gallagher

A 65-year-old driver of a compressed seafood waste truck was injured on Highway 26 on Sunday when it veered off the road and hit some trees.

Oregon police have said that Daniel Gallagher, who was driving the truck at the time of the accident sustained serious but non life-threatening injuries. He was taken to OSHU for treatment. He had veered to the right shoulder of the road and hit a stand of trees. Gallagher was taken by ambulance before being transferred to LifeFlight for the last leg of the trip to OSHU.

The highway was closed for several hours while the police and other departments cleaned it of the 40,000 pounds of compressed seafood waste spilled.

The actual cause of the accident has not yet been determined.

We extend our sympathies to the injured man and hope he recovers completely and quickly.

We understand the life-altering effects of a motor vehicle collision, and we wish Gallagher a complete and speedy recovery.

While many single car accidents are considered to be the fault of the driver, it is not uncommon for these types of accidents to be more complex than they appear. Poorly maintained roads, bad signage or traffic control devices, negligent mechanics, car manufacturing defects and/or poor design, can all contribute to a single-car accident.

To protect your rights, and any potential claim you may have, it is imperative to investigate these other possible causes as soon as possible. Road repairs, changes to the intersection, etc., can all obscure the evidence you might need to prove your claim. And, if a public body is negligent, you may lose your rights if you don’t send an Oregon Tort Claim within 180 days.

In a single-car accident, your Personal Injury Protection (PIP) should cover all your lost wages and medical bills up to at least $15,000 (the minimum coverage required by Oregon law). PIP is no-fault insurance, so PIP applies no matter who is found at fault for the accident.

If you or someone you know has been involved in a single car accident that they believe was not their fault, consider talking to an experienced Portland accident attorney or reading 7 Common Mistakes That Can Wreck Your Oregon Accident Case, which can answer the most common questions people have after a car accident.

%d bloggers like this: