Two Killed in Crash on I-84 in Baker County

Date: December 17, 2015

Location: Interstate 84

Names: Billie Jo Aguilar, Kendall Lee Lenderman, John Patrick Henry

Two Killed in Crash on I-84 in Baker County

Thursday morning, two Idaho residents were killed in a fatal crash on I-84 near Durkee in Baker County.

A 2003 Chevy Surburban driven by Billie Jo Aguilar, 39, of Wendell, Idaho, was heading west on I-84 when it lost control on the icy roadway, slid across the median and into oncoming traffic. A 2014 Peterbilt commercial vehicle driven by Kendall Lee Lenderman, 42, was unable to move out of the way and collided with the Surburban head-on.

Both vehicles slid off the road after impact and another two vehicles hit a different commercial truck driven by John Patrick Henry, 40, of Nampa.

Aguilar and a 12-year-old passenger in the Suburban died at the scene. Witnesses were able to help get the other 14-year-old passenger in the Surburban out before the Peterbilt and it caught on fire. She was taken to the hospital with serious injuries.

All of the other drivers were not injured.

We extend our condolences to the family and friends of Billie Jo Aguilar and the 12-year-old and wish the 14-year-old a full and speedy recovery.

As Portland car accident attorneys, we know that filing an insurance claim can be extremely complicated and stressful. After a crash like this, any injured person can seek compensation through the at-fault driver’s insurance policy, or through their own uninsured motorist coverage.

Steps to Take for Filing an Insurance Claim after an Oregon Accident:

  1. Get medical treatment. If you’ve been injured, waiting to seek medical treatment can greatly affect the value of your claim.
  2. Right after the accident, write down any details you remember.
  3. Contact your insurance company and get a copy of your insurance policy if you don’t have one. Talk to your adjuster about using your personal injury protection (PIP) coverage for medical treatment, lost wages, etc.
  4. Determine the amount of property damage done.
  5. Start keeping good records. Get the police report, copies of medical bills, pictures of your car before and after repairs, etc.
  6. If you are considering hiring a lawyer, talk to the lawyer before you talk to the other driver’s insurance company.
  7. Get all correspondence with both insurance companies in writing.
  8. Do not sign anything until you are done treating and are medically stationary.
  9. Check the statute of limitations on your claim. For most car accidents in Oregon, the time limit is two years, but this is not true for all cases. In some cases, you will only have 180 days – speaking to an attorney can clarify your time limits.
  10. Discuss your case with a car accident attorney in Portland who offers free consultations to start understanding the laws that affect your case and your rights as an accident victim.

But before you speak to the insurance adjuster or an attorney, you can learn more about the Oregon insurance claim process in the very helpful book, 7 Common Mistakes That Can Wreck Your Oregon Accident Case.


About Sean DuBois

Sean is a personal injury attorney in Portland, OR. He has been recognized by Super Lawyers Magazine as Oregon Rising Stars for the past four years because of his dedication to justice and fair compensation for his clients. If you need to speak with a lawyer about your injury case, Sean can be reached at 503-222-4411.

Posted on December 21, 2015, in Car Accidents, personal injury and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: