Hit-and-run suspect turns himself in to police
Date: June 7, 2014
Location: SE Foster Road, Portland
Name: Dorena Hernandez
Police report that 33-year-old Dorena Hernandez was hit as she was walking on SE Foster Road, west of SE 172nd Avenue. It was around 11 pm at night and she was hit by a truck pulling a trailer, that left the scene of the accident. The truck was reported to be dark in color and was pulling a white Wells Cargo or First Interstate trailer.
Hernandez was transported to a local hospital with serious injuries. Her current condition is not known.
Police initially released photos of the truck in an attempt to get witnesses to come forward to help identify the driver.
On Monday, Charles Francis Gillespie, 67, turned himself in to the police. Charges are currently pending and he is reported to be cooperating with the investigation.
Specific details of the accident have not been released, like if Hernandez was crossing in a marked crosswalk or if Gillespie was aware that he hit someone.
We would like to wish Dorena Hernandez a fast and full recovery from her injuries. We hope that she suffers no permanent disability and if the hit-and-run driver is found negligent, he will be held accountable for his actions.
According to the Oregon Department of Transportation, there are over 1,000 hit and run injury accidents in the state every year. These often tragic and disturbing crashes affect pedestrians, bicyclists, motorcyclists, etc. – and often greatly affect their families as well.
We send our best wishes to all of the victims of these terrible crimes, and especially to Dorena Hernandez. We wish you a speedy and complete recovery.
ORS 811.705 explains that it is a criminal offense to hit a person, animal, or private property and leave the scene without rendering aid, exchanging information, and reporting the accident to the DMV. This failure to perform the duties of a driver is a crime, and in some instances, a felony.
Just because you don’t know who hit you, doesn’t mean you can’t get help. In Oregon, every driver is required to have at least $25,000 in Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UIM) coverage. This means you can file a claim with your own insurance.
Filing a claim with your own insurance can be confusing, however, so talk to a dedicated Portland hit and run attorney to discuss your case for free, or consider ordering our Free Oregon Accident Book to learn more about UIM insurance coverage.
Posted on June 19, 2014, in Assault Attorneys, Hit and Run, Oregon Personal Injury Attorney, Pedestrian Accidents, personal injury, Portland personal injury attorneys and tagged Charles Francis Gillespie, Dorena Hernandez, Hit and Run, Oregon Department of Transportation, pedestrian accident. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.