Mother Indicted For DUI, Manslaughter on I-84

Date: November 21, 2013
Location: I-84, Troutdale
Name: 9-year-old girl, four other children

A grand jury at Multnomah County Court indicted a mother of manslaughter and other charges in a crash on the I-84, in which her 9-year-old daughter died and five other children sustained injuries.

The grand jury indicted Mattie Spino, 31, of second degree manslaughter, third degree assault, reckless driving, reckless endangerment, and driving under the influence of intoxicants.

The accident occurred on November 21, when Spino was driving a SUV in which her boyfriend and children were present. The SUV rolled and her daughter was declared dead on the spot while a seven-year-old boy has to be airlifted for treatment. He is now recovering. Spino has pled not guilty to the charges. Investigators say they found evidence at the crash site that suggest that Spino was drinking.

We extend our sympathies to the family and friends of the dead child and hope the other injured children recover completely and quickly.

Our sincerest condolences and best wishes go out to Spino’s family; we wish you strength and courage in this time of tragedy.

Drunk driving accidents are horrible because they could have been prevented by good sense, though this is little consolation to a victim’s family. Wrongful death claims for fatal drunk driving accidents are legally complex and can be restricted by very strict time limits (as little as one year to file the appropriate notices).

If someone you love has been killed by a drunk driver, you may be able to get compensation in a few ways:

  1. You may be able to file a claim with the auto insurance of the at-fault driver.
  2. You may be able to file a claim with the decedent’s insurance (if it was a hit-and-run crash, or the at-fault driver did not have insurance).
  3. You may be able to file a claim against the establishment or person that supplied the alcohol to the drunk driver through a Dram Shop Notice.

A Dram Shop Notice allows you to hold responsible whoever served and continued to serve alcohol to the drunk driver after they were visibly intoxicated, or whoever served alcohol to someone who is underage. This could be a bar, nightclub, restaurant, or any establishment that sells alcohol.

These establishments are required to properly train their employees to act in accordance with the OLCC’s guidelines. They should not be allowed to do otherwise. A Dram Shop Notice is a special letter that tells the establishment that they are being held accountable for failing to follow these guidelines. In a fatal accident, the Dram Shop Notice must be received within one year of the accident that caused the death.

Let an Oregon wrongful death attorney who is familiar with the law regarding drunk driving accidents help you through this difficult time, so that you can focus on your family. For more information about wrongful death claims, please order our free guide, Oregon Wrongful Deaths: A Family Guide to the Civil Justice System After the Death of a Loved One.

Advertisements

About Sean DuBois

Sean is a personal injury attorney in Portland, OR. He has been recognized by Super Lawyers Magazine as Oregon Rising Stars for the past four years because of his dedication to justice and fair compensation for his clients. If you need to speak with a lawyer about your injury case, Sean can be reached at 503-222-4411.

Posted on December 19, 2013, in Car Accidents, Drunk Driving, Injuries to Children and Minors, Wrongful Death. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: