9-Year-Old Girl Injured in Hit and Run, License Caught By Witness
Date: July 27, 2013
Name: Not Named
The 9-year-old girl was riding her bicycle near her home in the early afternoon. The girl was hit by a pick up truck, whose driver left the scene before police could arrive. It was reported that he hit her and then dragged her several feet with his truck before stopping. He then pulled the bike out from under his truck. The little girl was scraped and bruised, but was able to walk to her home following the accident. Witnesses report that her hand and back appeared to have serious lacerations and paramedics were called when she arrived home.
A quick thinking witness took a photo of the vehicles license plate before the driver left the scene. Police are now using that photo to identify the driver. It was reported that the driver returned to the scene before police arrived, but then left again.
We would like to express our best wishes for a full recovery to the little girl injured in the accident. We hope the driver of the truck is located and held accountable for the injuries he caused as well as for leaving the scene of the accident.
According to the Oregon Department of Transportation, there are over 1,000 hit and run injury accidents in the state every year. These often tragic and disturbing crashes affect pedestrians, bicyclists, motorcyclists, etc. – and often greatly affect their families as well.
We send our best wishes to all of the victims of these terrible crimes, and especially to NAME. We wish you a speedy and complete recovery.
ORS 811.705 explains that it is a criminal offense to hit a person, animal, or private property and leave the scene without rendering aid, exchanging information, and reporting the accident to the DMV. This failure to perform the duties of a driver is a crime, and in some instances, a felony.
Just because you don’t know who hit you, doesn’t mean you can’t get help. In Oregon, every driver is required to have at least $25,000 in Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UIM) coverage. This means you can file a claim with your own insurance.
Filing a claim with your own insurance can be confusing, however, so talk to a dedicated Portland hit and run attorney to discuss your case for free, or consider ordering our Free Oregon Accident Book to learn more about UIM insurance coverage.