Single-Car Accident Leaves One Dead, One Injured
Date: June 14, 2013
Location: Highway 6, Tillamook
Names: Atilano Vargas Sanchez, Juan Getcemani De La Torre
Police report that the single vehicle accident occurred off Highway 6 about six miles east of Tillamook. In the morning, on July 14, 2013, Juan Getcemani De La Torre, age 23, from Tillamook was westbound in his 2010 Jeep Patriot on Highway 6. For unknown reasons, it left the highway and collided with a tree. The vehicle then rolled down an embankment and landed upside down in Wilson River.
Two people nearby heard the crash and went to the scene to lend assistance. They were able to get the driver out of the vehicle and to safety before first responders arrived. The passenger, Atilano Vargas Sanchez, age 43, suffered more serious injuries and was transported to Tillamook Regional Medical center, where he later died of his injuries. The driver was also taken to the hospital, though his injuries were non life-threatening.
The investigation into the accident continues at this time, though police report that both parties were wearing their safety belts at the time of the accident.
We would like to extend our deepest sympathies to the family and friends of the man killed in this crash. Our best wishes are with all who are grieving for the loss of Atilano Vargas Sanchez. In addition, we hope the driver, Juan Getcemani De La Torre, has a fast and full recovery.
While many single car accidents are considered to be the fault of the driver, it is not uncommon for these types of accidents to be more complex than they appear. Poorly maintained roads, bad signage or traffic control devices, negligent mechanics, car manufacturing defects and/or poor design, can all contribute to a single-car accident.
To protect your rights, and any potential claim you may have, it is imperative to investigate these other possible causes as soon as possible. Road repairs, changes to the intersection, etc., can all obscure the evidence you might need to prove your claim. And, if a public body is negligent, you may lose your rights if you don’t send an Oregon Tort Claim within 180 days.
In a single-car accident, your Personal Injury Protection (PIP) should cover all your lost wages and medical bills up to at least $15,000 (the minimum coverage required by Oregon law). PIP is no-fault insurance, so PIP applies no matter who is found at fault for the accident.
If you or someone you know has been involved in a single car accident that they believe was not their fault, consider talking to an experienced Portland accident attorney or reading 7 Common Mistakes That Can Wreck Your Oregon Accident Case, which can answer the most common questions people have after a car accident.